Why real KeyForge cards beat the digital game

Lately, I’ve been diving deep into the world of KeyForge, searching for the perfect move to make me invincible. Armed with my laptop and connecting the TCO playfield, I’ve taken on every battle. But despite my dedication to my test decks, I often found myself at a dead end. Somehow, the victories weren’t as sweet, the defeats more painful than ever, even more so than in my days as a Magic: The Gathering player.

In a moment of reflection – and perhaps a bit of desperation – I decided to leave the digital world of gaming behind and revive an almost forgotten method: I returned to playing KeyForge entirely physically. It was time to turn off the screens and let the cards do the talking. This return to the roots would not only renew my game, but also my connection to the game.

Physical cards are not just game tools, they are the heart of every real duel in KeyForge. They provide a sense of reality and presence that is often missing in the digital world. Every time we draw a card, we feel the weight of the decisions we have to make. It is this tangible experience that provides the foundation for conscious play. Digital platforms may be convenient, but they can easily distract us from the art of strategic thinking and draw us into a world where quick clicks triumph over deep thought.

Wendell Berry, a visionary in his choice of tools, is not only a gifted writer but also a teacher for those who value the real and authentic. His theses on returning to basic tools inspire me daily. His seminal essay “Why I Won’t Buy a Computer” is a clear reckoning with modern technology. Berry writes not only from a longing for simplicity, but also from a deep appreciation for craftsmanship.

In this essay, Berry makes a powerful case against the advantages of digital devices and for the superiority of simple, classic tools-in our case, physical cards from KeyForge. His recommendations are profound: Any new tool should be not only functional and efficient, but also respectful of our human relationships and cultural heritage. A new piece of technology should never replace the good old things that have already proven their worth.

Berry articulates nine rules for adopting new technology, each designed to preserve our autonomy over our tools and to ensure that these improvements are real improvements, not just an escape from confronting the real world.

In light of this wisdom, we should all take a critical look at our digital gaming platforms. It may be too late to completely turn back the digital tide, but it’s never too late to be more conscious of our choices. That means using technology to augment our human capabilities, not replace them.

To celebrate my return to the classic game of KeyForge, I decided to try an experiment that was as simple as it was ingenious. I selected two paper decks from my collection and spread them out on an old wooden table that still bore the scars of countless previous battles. The table, with its sturdy, time-worn surface, became the arena for a special kind of duel: me against myself.

In the silence of my game room, I began to draw the cards, each move deliberate and considered. Here, in this almost meditative state, I played both sides of the board, immersing myself in the strategies and moves that make KeyForge so fascinating. These self-battles on the old wooden table were more than just practice; they were a kind of ritual chess game, in which every card, every action told a story, interwoven with the patina of the table, which itself became a silent witness to this new, yet old-fashioned way of playing.

Ultimately, this exploration led me to a simple but powerful realization: Playing KeyForge with physical cards is not just a matter of preference, but a deep dive into what it means to think and act strategically. Every time I hold the cards in my hands, I’m not just a player – I’m a keeper of a tradition that redefines the experience with every turn.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started